the greatest movies, by ryan.

A list you typed into my phone the first day we met;

a collection of letters typed into a note

by your hands that back then I was unaware

of how familiar they would become.

Movies that I had not seen and you thought it insane

that I was missing out on such wonders.

I remember at first I wanted to impress you

and so I tried my best to make my way through

this list that you had given me to keep

on my phone as a reminder;

a reminder of both the movies and you.

As the weeks began to pass I began to slow down

on those movies you said I should watch.

Not because I stopped wanting to impress you

but because I knew that I no longer needed to.

I had caught your heart as you had caught mine

and the list remains on my phone as a reminder of you

and that very first day.

I will get back to the list one day;

occasionally one is still ticked off now and then

but for now the greatest movie

is the one we are creating ourselves;

a movie of memories that I hope will last forever.

 

*NOTE* To avoid confusion the poem isn’t by Ryan. The name of the poem is the name of the list.

[Image Credit]

Leave a comment